5 ways to optimize your sleep for training

1. UV/Blue Light Blocking Goggles

Uvex S1933X Skyper Safety Eyewear, Black Frame, SCT-Orange UV Extreme Anti-Fog Lens

These goggles block blue light and UV light which destroys melatonin (the sleep hormone) stores. I put them on about an hour or two before I go to sleep. They don’t seem to help me fall asleep faster but I’ve noticed that my quality of sleep tends to be higher when I wear them. Yes, you’ll look like a tool when you wear them but if you’ve done a good job picking your significant other they’ll still sex you all the same.

2. F.lux

F.lux is a free application for your Mac, Windows, or Linux PC (an iPhone/iPad via jailbreak) which changes the color profile of your computer screen at night to match that of your lighting. It makes your computer screen a lot easier on the eyes and prevents you from being blinded by your screen if you check something late at night. Be prepared to get a lot of questions from others when they see your screen change colors.

3. Blackout Curtains

Solid Thermal Insulated Blackout Curtain 84″L- 1 Set-BLACK

Getting the room in which you sleep as dark as possible will make a big difference in your sleep quality. I’ve been using these blackout curtains for at least 6 months now.

4. Sleep Mask

Revolutionary, Patented SLEEP MASTER Sleep Mask

A sleep mask helps to keep out any extra light from hitting the eyes.

5. ZMA

Optimum Nutrition ZMA, 180 Capsules 180 Capsules

ZMA is touted as a “night-time recovery support”. It contains Zinc, Magnesium, and Vitamin B6. It’s purported to help with sleep but I can’t say I truly notice a difference. It can’t hurt as a lot of people are Magnesium deficient.

Let me know what’s worked for you!

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “5 ways to optimize your sleep for training

  1. John Phung says:

    I’ve used melatonin in the past to get to sleep. I like the sublingual ones (where it dissolves under your tongue).

    To stay asleep, I need to use a CPAP machine or else my snoring wakes me up.

    Like

    • chadhydro says:

      Yeah I remember reading about that in your Meet report. Did it take a while to get used to sleeping with something strapped to your face? I feel like it would annoy the hell out of me.

      I’ve used melatonin too but I find that if I take too much it has the opposite effect and it makes it impossible to fall asleep and when I do it’s an incredibly light sleep :-/

      Like

      • John Phung says:

        Took a very long time to get used to the mask. Annoying at first. I used to take it off in the middle of the night. Sometimes couldn’t sleep with it. Now I can’t sleep without it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

