Sheiko 37 W1D5

Bench Press
45×5
135×7
155×6
165×5
185×4
195x3x2
210x2x2 (Paused)
195x3x2
185×4
165×6
155×8
135×8

Squat
45×5
135×5
225×5
270x4x2
315x3x2
340x3x5

A lot has happened since the last time I posted anything.

– I finished Sheiko #29 (for Bench)
– I moved into a house
– I built a gym in the garage
– My girlfriend and I flew home to take part in my sister’s wedding
– We went camping on Clearlake and tubed down the Russian River

Since I’ve been so busy and also transitioned from my old gym to my home gym my workouts weren’t super consistent. I was only really concerned with finishing Sheiko 29 for Bench. Didn’t test at all since finishing it but I can tell from the bar speed that I’ve definitely gotten stronger on Bench.

The Squat, however, is another story. While I was finishing up Sheiko and making the transition from gyms I did some high-bar work since I’d never done much. It was pretty tough and I enjoyed the challenge but I’ve definitely lost some of my adaptation to heavy ass weight. I decided to jump straight into Sheiko 37 for Squat and Deadlift since it’s only a slight increase of volume from 29. I programmed the two lifts too heavy initially and had a bad time the first half of the week. The 340x3x5 was tough but definitely manageable.

I’m still getting used to lifting in the rack (especially Bench-wise). I’ve been knocking into the sides when I squat and hitting the rails sometimes when I Bench. Still I can easily say that it’s loads better than lifting in a public gym and I do not regret the decision at all.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

