My next meet

I’ve decided that my next meet will be the USAPL California State Meet usually held the weekend of President’s Day in February. This roughly puts me 17 weeks from the meet.

Why USAPL?

I’ve decided that I want to focus on competing in the USAPL for the foreseeable future. There are a few reasons for this:

  1. Many of the top lifters that I respect compete in this federation
  2. It’s drug tested. I have nothing against PEDs I just currently don’t want to use them and don’t want to compete against those that use them.
  3. It’s known for being strict and I’d like to have my lifts held to a high standard
  4. It’s raw, therefore the meet will go faster… right? …maybe?

Considerations for meet prep

I’ve been digging into more Reactive Training Systems and have come up with a pretty simple program from the material in Mike’s Total Game Plan Strength Summit DVD (highly recommended). I feel like I’ve been program hopping a bit lately and I really need to just buckle down and follow something for an extended period of time. My biggest concern going into meet prep is another China trip. I’m not sure yet how long it will take me to get back to my previous strength levels but so far I’ve taken a pretty big hit from no serious training for three weeks. If another China trip comes, say maybe in January 2014 I’ll probably be royally fucked. Maybe. My plan is to use the rest of the year to get as strong as possible. That way my baseline will at least be a little higher than it is now.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

